Encounter With Yoda on Dagobah

Encounter with Yoda AMT/ERTL Kit

Finally! A new kit 100% finished. This project has been in progress for about a year. It feels good to call it done.

This kit has been in production since 1980, so it’s a pretty common kit. I found this vintage kit, still in the cellophane, on eBay and won it for .99. A bargain! Honestly, if it wasn’t that cheap, I’d have zero interest in building it. I got one as a Christmas gift in 1980 and I was really disappointed with it then and I never finished painting it. Figure painting was not my thing as a kid.

It’s a simple snap together kit with very few parts. You can put this thing together in less than 5 minutes. Being such a simple kit, it doesn’t have a lot of detail and it needs a lot of filling to fix the seems and huge gaps. The finish/painting is the big challenge and that takes a lot of time.

Overall, I’m satisfied with the results. It’s a helluva lot better than the kit I built in 1980! I probably could have detailed it out further, but I really didn’t want to spend that much time on it. If you get a chance, check out this guys kit at: www.starwarsmodels.com/yodahut.html. I visited that site for reference, inspiration and techniques. The site owner has great tutorials and loads of great SW kits.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

